A Civic Media radio station

Civic Media Logo
Canvassing begins Monday for La Crosse School District Board of Education

Source: La Crosse School District

Canvassing begins Monday for La Crosse School District Board of Education

Canvassers for the La Crosse School District will have to add up over 9,000 write-in votes to see who will be on its school board.

April 8, 2024 8:22 AM CDT

By: Jimmie Kaska

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WLCX) – Canvassing of the Spring Election will be held on Monday afternoon for the La Crosse School District.

The District will be counting all 9,691 write-in votes to see which three people are elected to its Board of Education.

Nine candidates, including two who were on the ballot and seven who ran write-in campaigns, are vying for three seats on the school board. That means every write-in vote, including for those who were not registered as write-ins, has to be tallied.

Canvassing will begin at 4 p.m. Monday, and will pick up again at 9 a.m. Tuesday if canvassers haven’t counted all of the votes.

The two candidates who were on the ballot, Tim Alberts and Adam Manka, are competing with seven write-in candidates: Jim Baniewski, Kathi Blanchard, Jeremiah Galvan, Kevin Lee, Amber Peterson, Mike Richmond, and Jake Williams.

Alberts received 6,035 votes, while Manka had 4,433, according to unofficial vote totals provided by La Crosse County.

The next three school board members will replace Annie Baumann, Jeff Jackson, and Brad Quarberg, who did not seek re-election. Baumann is the current board president, while Quarberg is the current vice president.

Whichever three candidates are elected will be sworn in at the board’s regular meeting on April 15.

More Articles

WAUK - Waukesha - The 'SHA